Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


Hugo Honors ‘Doctor Who’ With Three Noms

PLUS: ‘Star Trek,’ ‘District 9’ to finally compete with ‘Avatar’

Even the holders of the original science-fiction flame love their “Doctor Who.”

On the same weekend that the BBC brought the long-running show back to episodic form with new star Matt Smith, the World Science Fiction Society has honored “Doctor Who” with three Hugo award nominations, all that have had a direct influence by former showrunner Russell T. Davies.

“Doctor Who” earned three nominations in the Best Dramatic Presentation – Short Form category of the Hugos. The Christmas 2008 episode “The Next Doctor” written by Davies and directed by Andy Goddard was one of the nominees along with “Planet of the Dead” and “The Water of Mars.”

“Planet of the Dead,” which aired in Easter 2009, was written by Davies and Gareth Roberts and directed by James Strong for BBC Wales. “Water of Mars” was written by Davies and Phil Ford, and directed by Graeme Harper, and aired in November.

Joining the three “Doctor Who” episodes were the now-cancelled Fox series “Dollhouse” along with a show that may soon join it, “FlashForward.”

The “Dollhouse” episode, “Epitaph 1,” never actually aired on Fox. Instead, it was included on the “Dollhouse” Season 1 DVD. A sequel to that episode served as its series finale. It was based on a story by Joss Whedon and written by Maurissa Tancharoen and Jed Whedon. It was directed by David Solomon for Mutant Enemy.

Brannon Braga and David Goyer were honored for the pilot episode of “FlashForward,” called “No More Good Days,” that aired on ABC in September. It was directed by Goyer, and based on a novel by Robert J. Sawyer, himself a past Hugo winner.

In the long-form side — in something we call movies — it’s a genre matchup we almost got to see at this year’s Oscar awards.

Up for nominations are “Avatar,” “District 9,” “Moon,” “Star Trek” and “Up.”

“Avatar” was written and directed by James Cameron for Twentieth Century Fox. “District 9” was written by Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell, and directed by Blompkamp for TriStar Pictures. “Moon” was written by Nathan Parker based on a story by Duncan Jones, who directed the film for Liberty Films.

“Star Trek” was written by Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman and directed by J.J. Abrams for Paramount Pictures. “Up” was written by Bob Peterson and Pete Doctor based on a story by Peterson, Doctor and Thomas McCarthy. It was directed by Peterson and Doctor for Disney/Pixar.

Voting for the awards begins Sunday by members of the WSFS and lasts until July 31. Winners will be announced in early September at AussieCon 4, the 68th World Science Fiction Convention to be held in Melbourne, Australia.

For a complete list of nominees, click here.

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast