Genre Nexus - We Get Entertainment 1701 News |  Airlock Alpha |  Inside Blip |  Rabid Doll

[?]

Twitter Facebook Mailing List RSS Feed

'Game Of Thrones,' William Shatner Up For TCA Honors

Also, original 'Star Trek' in line for Heritage Award

The Television Critics Association has a message for the Emmys: Don't forget too much about the fantasy and science-fiction genre.

"Game of Thrones" is up for three TCA awards this year including Peter Dinklage for Individual Achievement in Drama, as well as Outstanding Achievement in Drama and Program of the Year for the HBO television show as a whole. The show is looking to improve its outing last year where it received four nominations (in all the same categories), but won in the one it can't be nominated for this year, Outstanding New Program of the Year.

Yet, another genre show that should have been nominated for that category but wasn't was FX's "American Horror Story." Instead, TCA decided to nominate "Girls" from HBO, "Homeland" from Showtime, "New Girl" from Fox, "Revenge" from ABC and "Smash" on NBC.

"American Horror Story" wasn't completely left out, however. Jessica Lange is competing with Dinklage for Individual Achievement in Drama, joining a group that also includes Bryan Cranston from AMC's "Breaking Bad," Claire Danes from Showtime's "Homeland" and Jon Hamm from AMC's "Mad Men." However, the series was also left off the list for Program of the Year, with those honors instead going to "Thrones," "Breaking Bad," "Homeland," "Mad Men" and "Downton Abbey" on PBS.

TCA is also keeping its eye on some of science-fiction's classics -- that is, the most classic television show of them all, the original "Star Trek."

That series, which ran in the late 1960s, is up for TCA's Heritage Award, joining "Lost" on ABC, "Cheers" and "Saturday Night Live" on NBC, and "Twin Peaks" on ABC. This is the second time "Star Trek" has been nominated for the Heritage Award, getting its first nomination in 2009.

For "Lost," this is its 15th TCA nomination, and its second in the Heritage Award category, being first nominated in 2010. The show has won four TCA awards in the past, including Outstanding Achievement in Drama in 2010. It also won that award in 2005 and 2006, along with Outstanding New Program in 2005.

William Shatner himself is up for an honor. The "Star Trek" actor is up for TCA's Career Achievement Award against Andy Griffith, David Letterman, Regis Philbin and the late Dick Clark. This is the second time Shatner is up for this award.

Winners will be announced July 28.

About the Author

Michael Hinman is the founder and editor-in-chief for Airlock Alpha and the entire GenreNexus. He owns Nexus Media Group Inc., the parent corporation of the GenreNexus and is a veteran print journalist. He lives in Tampa, Fla.
Email author

You might also like:

Genre Nexus Community

Visit our forums