Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


‘Game Of Thrones’ Earns Third Hugo

Plus, ‘Gravity’ wins, ‘Ancillary Justice’ by Ann Leckie awarded Best Novel

“Game of Thrones” won a Hugo Award for “The Rains of Castermere” as the World Science Fiction Society handed out its annual awards on Sunday at Loncon 3 in London.

“The Rains of Castermere” was written by series creators David Benioff and D.B. Weiss and directed by David Nutter, and was competing in the Best Dramatic Presentation-Short Form category. It was the third Hugo for the HBO series.

Benioff and Weiss accepted the award, saying it was the second award for creativity they had heard of besides the Nobel Prize, and the Hugo looks better. They remembered when they were previewing the pilot in a theater and Parris McBride, author George R.R. Martin’s future wife, came to them and said not to screw up the show.

“The Rains of Castermere” beat out two episodes of “Doctor Who” — “The Name of the Doctor” and “The Day of the Doctor” — as well as “An Adventure in Space and Time,” a docu-drama of the “Doctor Who’s” early days; “The Five(ish) Doctor Reboot,” a humorous short based on “Doctor Who” directed by Peter Davison (who played the fifth Doctor); and “Variations Under Domestication” from the BBC America series “Orphan Black.”

Also winning a Hugo this year was “Gravity,” written by Alfonso and Jonas Cuarón and directed by Alfonso Cuarón, which won its award in Best Dramatic Presentation-Long Form. Accepting for Cuarón was former Worldcon chairman Vince Doherty, who read a note sent by Cuarón that thanked the nominators, voters and the other finalists.

Other nominees in the category included “Frozen,” “Iron Man 3,” “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” and “Pacific Rim.”

The winner for the Best Novel category, “Ancillary Justice” by Ann Leckie, has won several other major Science Fiction/Fantasy awards including the Nebula Award, Locus Award, the British Science Fiction Award and the Arthur C. Clarke Award. It has also been short listed for three more awards. No novel in recent years has achieved this level of critical success.

Hugo winners in other categories included “Equoid” by Charles Stross for Best Novella; “The Lady Astronaut From Mars” by Mary Robinette Kowal for Best Novelette; “The Water That Falls on You From Nowhere” by John Chu for Best Short Story; and “Time” by Randall Munroe for Best Graphic Story.

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast