Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


‘Doctor Who,’ ‘Game Of Thrones’ Dominate Hugos

Neil Gaiman earns his fifth award at Chicon 7

By Juan Sanmiguel

“Doctor Who” continued its domination of the Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation-Short Form by taking home an award for “The Doctor’s Wife,” which was written by Neil Gaiman and directed by Richard Clark.

But the British series was not alone. The entire first season of HBO’s “Game of Thrones” took home the Best Dramatic Presentation-Long Form prize as Hugo Awards were presented at the 70th World Science Fiction Convention, Chicon 7, held in Chicago.

The win was Gaiman’s fifth Hugo and his second in the “Dramatic Presentation” categories. The movie “Stardust,” based on his graphic novel, won in 2008.

In his acceptance speech, Gaiman thanked Clark, the production team, the cast, Russell T. Davies, Steven Moffat, Verity Lambert (the first producer of the series in 1963), and Sydney Newman, who originally conceived of the series. Gaiman said “Doctor Who” celebrates love, hope and intellect over brawn. But he added that he’s working on a new “Doctor Who” story, because why not? Only a madman would try to top it.

“Doctor’s Wife” was one of three “Doctor Who” episodes nominated in the category, joining “The Girl Who Waited” and “A Good Man Goes to War.” It also finished ahead of “Remedial Chaos Theory” from the NBC comedy “Community” as well as “The Drink Tank’s” acceptance speech from last year’s Hugo Award ceremony.

For “Game of Thrones,” author George R.R. Martin and actor Ron Donachie accepted the Hugo. It is the first time a television series has won in Long Form, but it’s not the first to be nominated. NBC’s “Heroes” earned that distinction in 2008.

Martin praised the production crew on the HBO series, saying it’s a very faithful adaptation of his books. His series beat out “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2” from Steve Kloves and David Yates; “Hugo” from John Logan and Martin Scorsese; “Captain America: The First Avenger” from Christopher Markus, Stephan McFeely and Joe Johnston; and “Source Code” from Ben Ripley and Duncan Jones.

Hugo added a new category this year, Best Fancast, which was won by SF Squeecast, hosted by Lynne M. Thomas, Seanan McGuire, Paul Cornell, Elizabeth Bear and Catherynne M. Valente.

Other winners include “Among Others” by Jo Walton for Best Novel, “The Man Who Bridged the Mist” by Kij Johnson for Best Novella; “Six Months, Three Days” by Charlie Jane Anders for Best Novelette; “The Paper Menagerie” by Ken Liu for Best Short Story; “The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition” edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls and Graham Slight; “Digger” by Ursula Vernon for Best Graphic Story.

Also winning were Betsy Wollheim for Best Editor-Long Form, Sheila Williams for Best Editor-Short Form, John Picacio for Best Professional Artist, John C. Hines for Best Fan Writer, and a non-Hugo award for Lily Yu as the John W. Campbell winner for Best New Writer.

The Hugo Awards are presented by the World Science Fiction Society, and were first handed out in 1953. Nominees and later winners are selected among the paid members of the Society, including those who purchase tickets to the annual convention. Next year’s WorldCon will take place in San Antonio, with 2014 heading to London. It will be the first WorldCon in the Texas city since 1997, but the first one to grace London since 1965.

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast