Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


‘Game Of Thrones’ Leads Portal Awards With 9 Nods

‘The Avengers’ tops movies with four nominations

“Game of Thrones” already has a solid season season on HBO, nearly doubling the audience it had for the first season. And the quality shone through as well, especially when it came to the 2012 Airlock Alpha Portal Awards.

The HBO fantasy drama picked up nine nominations, including Best Series/Television and nearly all the major categories, leading a select list of 11 television shows and six films being honored this year.

Peter Dinklage, who won the Emmy for his role last year, but lost out to John Noble from “Fringe” in Portal Awards voting, moves up to Best Actor/Television this year in a field that includes Jensen Ackles from “Supernatural,” Andrew Lincoln with the only nomination for “The Walking Dead,” Eddie McClintock from “Warehouse 13” and Matt Smith from “Doctor Who.”

Lena Headey, who plays Dinklage’s on-screen incestuous sister Cersei, leads Best Actress/Television in a field that also includes Karen Gillan from “Doctor Who,” first-time nominee Joanne Kelley from “Warehouse 13,” Amanda Tapping from the now-cancelled “Sanctuary” and Anna Torv from “Fringe.”

“Game of Thrones” also earned nominations in Best Supporting Actor/Television (Aidan Gillen), Best Supporting Actress/Television (Michelle Fairley and Maisie Williams), Best Episode/Television (“Ghost of Harrenhal”), and Best Young Actor (Williams and Jack Gleeson).

“Game of Thrones” won three Portal Awards last year including Sean Bean for Best Actor/Television, “Winter Is Coming” for Best Episode/Television, and for Best Series/Television.

Not far behind “Game of Thrones,” however, was Syfy’s “Warehouse 13, earning seven nominations this year and trying to nab its first win ever. But the competition is tough. McClintock and Kelley have nominations in the top acting categories, and they are joined by Saul Rubinek and Allison Scagliotti in the supporting actor categories.

The series also is earning some accolades for its Season 3 finale, “Emily Lake,” including Best Episode/Television, and Best Special Guest/Television for Jaime Murray, who plays H.G. Wells in the series. The show is also up for Best Series/Television with “Game of Thrones,” “Doctor Who,” “Fringe” and “Supernatural.”

“Doctor Who” and “Fringe” were not far behind in the nomination process with six and five nods respectively. Smith and Gillan are up for the major acting awards, and are joined by Arthur Darvill in the Best Supporting Actor/Television, Best Episode/Television for “A Good Man Goes to War,” and Best Special Guest/Television for Alex Kingston in “Let’s Kill Hitler.” Kingston, by the way, won a Portal Award in 2010 for “Time of Angels.”

“Doctor Who,” in fact, has won eight Portal Awards in the past, including Best Series/Television in 2010. That was the same year David Tennant won the Best Actor/Television award, and a year after Catherine Tate took home Best Actress/Television.

“Fringe” has last year’s Best Actress/Television winner Torv in the same category again as well as the Best Supporting Actor/Television winner Noble. Also up, however, is a pair of nods for the episode “Brave New World,” which earned a spot for Best Episode/Television as well as Best Special Guest/Television for Leonard Nimoy. The Star Trek legendary actor won this category last year for “Lysergic Acid Diethylamide” where he appeared animated.

Nimoy also won the Gene Roddenberry Award for lifetime achievement in 2001.

On the movie side, “The Avengers” led with four nominations, including Best Movie, two nods for Best Actor/Movie between Robert Downey Jr. and Mark Ruffalo, and Scarlett Johansson for Best Actress/Movie.

Not far behind were both “X-Men: First Class” and “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2,” which had three nominations each, including Best Movie against “Captain America: The First Avenger” and “The Hunger Games.”

For the first time since the Rod Serling Award honoring classic television series debuted in 2010, a Star Trek series will not be inducted following “Star Trek: The Next Generation” and “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine.” “Star Trek: Voyager” missed the cut this year, and instead that category will be represented by “Dark Shadows,” “Farscape,” “Quantum Leap,” “Twin Peaks” and “The X-Files.”

Those up for the Gene Roddenberry Award for lifetime achievement this year are author Edgar Rice Burroughs, late actor DeForest Kelley, “Game of Thrones'” George R.R. Martin, “Doctor Who” showrunner Steven Moffat and late “Doctor Who” actress Elisabeth Sladen.

Nominees were chosen from more than a thousand eligible actors, television shows and movies that aired in North America between June 1, 2011 and May 31, 2012. Readers like you will have a chance to vote on the awards once per day for 30 days beginning June 25 (and ending July 25).

The awards started in 1999 as the SyFy Portal Genre Awards, and have been held every year except 2002 (following the Sept. 11, 2001 terrorist attacks) bringing in more than 1 million ballots.

BEST ACTOR/Television
Jensen Ackles, “Supernatural”
Peter Dinklage, “Game of Thrones”
Andrew Lincoln, “The Walking Dead”
Eddie McClintock, “Warehouse 13”
Matt Smith, “Doctor Who”

Karen Gillan, “Doctor Who”
Lena Headey, “Game of Thrones”
Joanne Kelly, “Warehouse 13”
Amanda Tapping, “Sanctuary”
Anna Torv, “Fringe”

Robert Carlyle, “Once Upon a Time”
Arthur Darvill, “Doctor Who”
Aidan Gillen, “Game of Thrones”
John Noble, “Fringe”
Saul Rubinek, “Warehouse 13”

Michelle Fairley, “Game of Thrones”
Jessica Lange, “American Horror Story”
Lana Parrilla, “Once Upon a Time”
Allison Scagliotti, “Warehouse 13”
Maisie Williams, “Game of Thrones”

A Good Man Goes to War, “Doctor Who”
Brave New World, “Fringe”
Emily Lake, “Warehouse 13”
Ghost of Harrenhal, “Game of Thrones”
Slash Fiction, “Supernatural”

Misha Collins, “Survival of the Fittest,” Supernatural
Alex Kingston, “Let’s Kill Hitler,” Doctor Who
Jaime Murray, “Emily Lake,” Warehouse 13
Leonard Nimoy, “Brave New World,” Fringe
Zachary Quinto, “Open House,” American Horror Story

BEST SERIES/Television
Doctor Who
Game of Thrones
Warehouse 13

Taissa Farmiga, “American Horror Story”
Jack Gleeson, “Game of Thrones”
Connor Jessup, “Falling Skies”
David Mazouz, “Touch”
Maisie Williams, “Game of Thrones”

The Avengers
Captain America: The First Avenger
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2
The Hunger Games
X-Men: First Class

Robert Downey Jr., “The Avengers”
Michael Fassbender, “X-Men: First Class”
Daniel Radcliffe, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2”
Mark Ruffalo, “The Avengers”
Andy Serkis, “Rise of the Planet of the Apes”

Hayley Atwell, “Captain America: The First Avenger”
Scarlett Johansson, “The Avengers”
January Jones, “X-Men: First Class”
Jennifer Lawrence, “The Hunger Games”
Emma Watson, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2”

Edgar Rice Burroughs
DeForest Kelley
George R.R. Martin
Steven Moffat
Elisabeth Sladen

Dark Shadows
Quantum Leap
Twin Peaks
The X-Files

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast