Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


‘Doctor Who’ Wins Another Hugo, Sets Franchise Record

Plus see other winners coming out of Reno

“Doctor Who” won its fifth Hugo Award for Dramatic Presentation-Short Form. Awards were handed out over the weekend at the 69th World Science Fiction Convention in Reno, Nev.

There special, “The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang,” was written by Stephen Moffat and directed by Toby Haynes.

Best Dramatic Presentation-Long Form went to “Inception,” written and directed by Christopher Nolan.

With its win, “Doctor Who” has broken the Star Trek franchise’s record for most Hugos in television work. “Doctor Who” writer Paul Cornell accepted the award for Moffat and Haynes. He said “Doctor Who” can take complicated science-fiction ideas and make them accessible to a mainstream audience.

“The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang” beat out two other episodes of “Doctor Who,” “The Christmas Carol” and “Vincent and the Doctor.” It also beat out the Oscar-winning short film “The Lost Thing” and popular YouTube short “Fuck Me, Ray Bradbury.”

Fan writer Stephen Silver accepted for Nolan for “Inception.” The director could not attend the ceremony because he’s working on “Dark Knight Rising” in Pittsburgh. Silver read a speech prepared by Nolan, thanking the World Science Fiction Society for the honor. He said he was proud the film earned the support of science-fiction fans.

Among the nominees “Inception” beat out were “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1” from Steven Kloves and David Yates; “How to Train Your Dragon” from William Davies, Dean Dubois and Chris Sanders; “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World” from Bryan Lee O’Malley, Michael Bacall and Edgar Wright; and “Toy Story 3” from Michael Arndt, John Lassiter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich.

Fir the first time, a set of novels won the Hugo for Best Novel. Connie Willis won for the “Blackout” and “All Clear,” which were both published last year, and told the story of time travelers trapped in England during World War II. This is Willis’ third win in the Best Novel category, and her 11th win overall.

Other winners include:

* “The Lifecycle of Software Objects” by Ted Chiang for Best Novella

* “The Emperor of Mars” by Allen Steele for Best Novelette

* “For Want of a Nail” by Mary Robinette Kowal for Best Short Story

* Chicks Did Time Lords edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea

* Girl Genius, Vol. 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse by Kaja Foglio, Phil Foglio and Cheyenne Wright for Best Graphic Story

* Lou Anders for Best Editor-Long Form

* Sheila Williams for Best Editor-Short Form

* Shaun Tan for Best Professional Artist

* Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace and Cheryl Morgan for Best Semiprozine

* The Drink Tank, edited by James Bacon and Christopher J. Garcia for Best Fanzine

* Claire Brialey for Best Fan Writer

* Brad W. Foster for Fan Artist

* Lev Grossman, winning the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (not a Hugo, but given out at the ceremony and voted on by the WSFS convention attendees)

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast