Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


‘Doctor Who’ Wins Fourth Hugo Award

‘Moon’ beat out high-budget contenders for the Long Form category

“Doctor Who” took home its fourth Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation – Short Form, but it’s not quite a win for new showrunner Steven Moffat just yet.

The BBC series picked up the award for “The Water of Mars,” written by Russell T. Davies and Phil Ford, and directed by Graeme Harper. “Doctor Who” actually dominated the category in the awards, given out at AussieCon 4 through the World Science Fiction Society, that also included “The Next Doctor” from Davies and director Andy Goddard and “Planet of the Dead” with Davies, Gareth Roberts and directing word by James Strong.

Also nominated were the “Dollhouse” episode “Epitaph 1” from Joss Whedon, Maurissa Tancharoen, Jed Whedon and David Solomon, as well as “No More Good Days” from the now-canceled ABC series “FlashForward” from Brannon Braga and David S. Goyer, based on the book by Robert J. Sawyer.

“Moon,” written by Nathan Parker and directed by Duncan Jones, took the Hugo for Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form. That beat out stiff competition from the likes of “Avatar,” “District 9,” “Star Trek” and “Up.”

The Hugos were presented at the 68th World Science Fiction Convention, this year known as AussieCon 4 in Melbourne, Australia.

“Doctor Who” has more Hugos than any single television series, and is tied with the complete Star Trek franchise which won two Hugos for the original series (“The Menagerie” and “City on the Edge of Forever”) and two Hugos for “Star Trek: The Next Generation” (“Inner Light” and “All Good Things”).

“Doctor Who” writer Paul Cornell both presented and accepted the award, reading a speech from Harper, who thanked the “Doctor Who” production team for letting him work on the show.

Author George R.R. Martin — who has a book series moving to television as “Game of Thrones” on HBO — presented the Long Form category, accepting the “Moon” award for Jones and Parker. “Moon” received a limited release in the United States, and had a small budget of $5 million, compared to the hundreds of millions of dollars from most of the other nominees, save “District 9.”

For the first time in 17 years, there was a tie in the Hugo for Best Novel category. Paolo Bacigalupi and China Miéville won for “The Windup Girl” and “The City and the City” respectively.

Two of the Hugo winners were in their 90s. Writer and editor Frederik Pohl, 90, won the Hugo for Best Fan Writer for his blog, The way the Future Blogs. Jack Vance, 94, won the award for Best Related Work for his biography, “This is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Propertly, This is ‘I’).”

Other winners include “Palimpsest” by Charles Stross fro Best Novella, “The Island” by Peter Watts for Best Novelette, “Bridesicle” by Wil McIntosh for Best Short Story, “Girl Genius, Vol. 9: Agatha Hetrodyne and the Heirs of the Storm” by Kaja Foglio and Phil Foglio for Best Graphic Story, Patrick Nielsen Hayden for Best Editor – Long Form, Ellen Datlow for Best Editor – Short Form and Shaun Tan for Best Professional Artist.

Best Semiprozone when to Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace and Cheryl Morgan. Brad W. Foster won for Fan Artist and Seanan McGuire won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

For a complete list of Hugo nominees, click here.

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast