Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


‘Lost,’ ‘FlashForward’ Come Up Mostly Empty At Emmys

Both outgoing shows settle for a pair of technical awards

There was some hope that “Lost” could get a significant boost with its recent swan song on ABC at the Emmy awards this year, but it just wasn’t going to happen — not as long as “Mad Men” remains on AMC.

“Lost” ended up with only a single Emmy, for Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Drama Series, that was actually handed out the week before for the episode “The End.” Among those winning in that category were Stephen Semel, Mark J. Goldman, Christopher Nelson and Henk Van Eeghen.

Another ABC series, “FlashForward,” also won an Emmy, but was for Outstanding Stunt Coordination for Danny Weselis in the episode “No More Good Days.” It was Weselis’ first nomination after working on shows like “Eli Stone,” “Day Break” and four years on the Fox classic “The X-Files.”

Weselis has also worked in a number of genre films including “Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines,” “Escape From L.A.,” and “Total Recall.”

“Lost,” however, suffered in the major categories. Besides losing to “Mad Men” to its third straight Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series, star Matthew Fox also finished behind Bryan Cranston from AMC’s “Breaking Bad” for Outstanding Actor for a Drama Series.

Terry O’Quinn and Michael Emerson, both previous Emmy winners, weren’t so lucky this time in the Outstanding Supporting Actor for a Drama Series category, both finishing behind Aaron Paul from “Breaking Bad.”

Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse were up for Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series with “The End,” but lost to Matthew Weiner and Erin Levy from “Mad Men” for their episode “Shut the Door. Have a Seat.”

Popular and longtime “Lost” director Jack Bender lost to Steve Shill from “Dexter” in the Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series, also for the series finale, “The End.”

In other awards handed out Sunday and over the past week, “24” took the Outstanding Musical Composition for a Series trophy over Michael Giacchino from “Lost” and Ramin Djawadi from “FlashForward.” Also, “Episode 407” of “The Tudors” beat “Brave New Worlds” from NBC’s “Heroes” and “Ab Aeterno” from “Lost” for Outstanding Direction for a Single-Camera Series.

“CSI” on CBS won for Outstanding Cinematography for a One-Hour Series over the “FlashForward” episode “No More Good Days” while “Warehouse 13” theme composer Edward Rogers and “Human Target” theme writer Bear McCreary finished behind Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman for Showtime’s “Nurse Jackie” for Outstanding Original Main Theme Title Music.

McCreary, of course, is a popular genre composer for such shows like “Battlestar Galactica” and “Caprica.”

For a complete list of this year’s winners and nominees, click here.

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast