Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


‘Doctor Who’ Dominates 2010 Portal Awards

David Tennant, Russell T. Davies, and series itself big winners

Fans will definitely miss David Tennant and Russell T. Davies. At least those who took the time to participate in Airlock Alpha’s 2010 Portal Awards.

Tennant won Best Actor/Television (by a landslide) and Davies picked up the Gene Roddenberry Award for lifetime achievement on this third try as “Doctor Who” walked away with six awards, including Best Series/Television for “Doctor Who” itself.

Tennant had a tough field to compete against in the Best Actor category including the likes of John Barrowman from “Torchwood,” Matthew Fox from “Lost,” Zachary Levi from “Chuck” and Eddie McClintock from “Warehouse 13.” Tennant, however, took 68 percent of the vote with his closest runner-up, Barrowman, attracting just 10 percent of the overall vote for that category.

McClintock, who campaigned heavily for the role — including a last-minute attempt to get San Diego Comic-Con attendees to get the vote out on the final day of balloting — finished a very respectable third, pulling in 9 percent of the vote. (VIDEO: The Purple Awards?)

Bernard Cribbins, who played Donna Noble’s grandfather (and who played a key role in Tennant’s final episodes) won Best Supporting Actor/Television in his first try, beating a field that included Robert Carlyle from “Stargate: Universe,” Enver Gjokaj from “Dollhouse,” John Noble from “Fringe” and Terry O’Quinn from “Lost.” Cribbins took 59 percent of the vote, followed by Noble with 14 percent.

For Best Series, “Doctor Who” attracted 65 percent of the vote followed by “Torchwood” with 11 percent.

“Torchwood” didn’t go away empty-handed. “Children of Earth” was critically acclaimed and earned a lot of nominations, however, only Eve Myles — who plays Gwen Cooper — received a virtual statue, picking up 38 percent of the vote in Best Actress/Television compared to her runner-up, Karen Gillan from “Doctor Who,” who had 26 percent of the vote.

The “Doctor Who” finale “End of Time” won Best Episode/Television, while Alex Kingston won Best Guest/Television for her role as River Song in the “Doctor Who” episode “Time of Angels.” Runners-up in those categories were “Children of Earth” and Leonard Nimoy for the “Fringe” season finale “Over There.”

Alaina Huffman picked up a Best Supporting Actress/Television award for her work on “Stargate: Universe,” and the Syfy series won Best Web Production for its “Kino” outing.

On the movie side, “Avatar” took two awards including Best Movie as well as Best Actress/Movie for Sigourney Weaver. Robert Downey Jr. won for Best Actor/Movie for “Iron Man 2.”

The site formerly known as SciFi Wire won for Best Web Site, while Daniel Radcliffe took home his record-breaking fourth Portal Awards, this time for Best Young Actor in “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.”

“Star Trek: The Next Generation” won its first (and likely only) Portal Award, when it was elected as the fourth classic series to join those honored for the Rod Serling Award. It joins charter class winners of “Twilight Zone,” “Star Trek” and the original “Doctor Who” for shows that have ended their run at least 10 years ago.

For a complete list of this year’s winners, click here.

This was the 11th year for the Portal Awards, which started in 1999 as the SyFy Genre Awards. An international nominating committee spends months generating a list of five nominees for each category, and then over the summer, readers have a chance to vote for their favorites once per day for 30 days.

“Doctor Who” has now picked up seven awards over the years, but is still third to “Star Trek: Voyager” (18 wins) and “Farscape” (eight wins).

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast