Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


Nominations Open For Hugo Awards

Winners will be revealed at Aussiecon 4

Every year, the Hugo Awards are presented at the World Science Fiction Convention, better known as Worldcon, by the World Science Fiction Society … and they are now accepting nominations for their 2010 ceremony.

The awards – named after Hugo Gernsback, founder of the Amazing Stories magazine — aim to recognize literary achievements in the science-fiction genre by covering novels, short stories, art work and authors. Members of the World Science Fiction Society or those purchasing an Aussiecon 4 membership before the end of January can now nominate works they believe deserve to be considered for recognition.

Nominations will be accepted until March 13, with a shortlist will be revealed in early April.

“There are many other categories of Hugo Awards, including some for short fiction, for artists, and editors, and for activities by fans, Vincent Docherty, Hugo Awards Administrator, said in a press release. Winning an award as prestigious as the Hugo can mean the difference between an author having one or two works published and having the industry keen to get its hands on anything you create.

The Hugos have been awarded every year since 1955. This is the fourth time Australia has hosted a Worldcon, and the first since 1999. It hosted its first one in 1975. Guests of honor are author Kim Stanley Robinson, artist Shaun Tan and fan Robin Johnson.

The 2011 WorldCon will be known as Renovation, and will be held in Reno, Nev., for the first time.

All winners will be announced during an evening ceremony at Aussiecon 4 on Sept. 5.

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast