Your doorway to everything genre

@AirlockalphaNo twitter items loaded at the moment ...


‘Doctor Horrible,’ ‘Wall-e’ Big Winners At Hugos

Airlock Alpha correspondent Juan Sanmiguel has all the details

A three-year winning streak for “Doctor Who” and its new showrunner Steven Moffat ended over the weekend at the Hugo Awards presented by the World Science Fiction Society as both had to step aside for a new doctor in Best Dramatic Presentation – Short Form: “Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog.”

Juan Sanmiguel, a correspondent representing Airlock Alpha at this year’s World Science Fiction Convention in Montreal, said the Web-only series created by Joss Whedon, Maurissa Tancharoen, Jed Whedon and Zack Whedon, took home the top prize in the category beating out the “Lost” episode “The Constant” from Carlton Cuse, Damon Lindelof and Jack Bender; “Revelations” from “Battlestar Galactica” from Bradley Thompson, David Weddle and Michael Rymer; the “Doctor Who” two-parter “Silence in the Library” and “Forest of the Dead” from Moffat and Euros Lyn, and the popular “Doctor Who” episode “Turn Left” from Russell T. Davies and Graeme Harper.

The award was accepted by prominent Whedon fan Colin Harris for the Whedons and Mutant Enemy. Harris read a speech from Whedon who thanked the fans for supporting the Web series (which is now on DVD) as well as the production team for making it with “little promise of reward,” according to Sanmiguel. Whedon also asked the Hugo Award itself why it chooses to give itself to such an obscure genre, but also said he was very grateful for picking up his second Hugo. He won his first one in 2006 for “Serenity.”

Also making a surprise win was “Wall-e,” beating out some amazingly tough competition including the second highest grossing film of all time, “The Dark Knight,” in Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form.

Accepting for the Disney-Pixar animated film was fan writer Steven Silver, who also had been dispatched to pick up the show’s Nebula award, too. Among the nominees it beat out was “The Dark Knight” from Christopher Nolan, David S. Goyer and Jonathan Nolan based on characters created by Bob Kane; “Hellboy II: The Golden Army” from Guillermo del Toro and Mike Mignola; “Iron Man” from Mark Fergus, Hawk Ostby, Art Marcum, Matt Holloway and Jon Favreau based on characters created by Stan Lee, Don Heck, Larry Lieber and Jack Kirby; and “Metatropolis” from John Scalzi, Elizabeth Bear, Jay Lake, Tobias Buckell and Karl Schroeder.

Honored for “Wall-e” were Andrew Standon, Pete Docter and Jim Reardon.

Other winners include “The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman for Best Novel, “The Erdmann Nexus” by Nancy Kress for Best Novella, “Shoggoths in Bloom” by Elizabeth Bear for Best Novelette, “Exhalation” by Ted Chiang for Best Short Story, “Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008” by John Scalzi.

Other winners include “Girl Genius, Vol. 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones” written by Kaja and Phil Foglio with colors by Cheyenne Wright for Best Graphic Story, Ellen Datlow for Best Editor – Short Form, David G. Hartwell for Best Editor – Long Form, Donato Giancola for Best Professional Artist, “Weird Tales” edited by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H Segal for Best Semiprozine, Cheryl Morgan for Best Fan Writer, “Electric Velocipede” edited by John Klima for Best Fanzine, Frank Wu for Best Fan Artist, and David Anthony Durham for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

This post was created by a person without an author bio.

Could they be a Rut-ro! Shaggy
COMMENTS ARE DISABLED Should we bring them back? Let us know on Twitter and Facebook

Media and Podcast